Praising God in Troubled Times

And He said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb and naked shall I return. The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.” ~ Job 1:21

And He said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb and naked shall I return. The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.” ~ Job 1:21

Praising the name of the Lord comes easy during the great times. Job, a righteous man that had been greatly blessed by God, took this even further. He said the above after he lost not only all his possessions and servants but his 10 children, as well.

Could you do this? I know I didn’t.

And He said, "Naked I came from my mother's womb and naked shall I return. The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord." ~ Job 1:21
Job 1:21

Turning Away From Jesus

My recent conversion with Jesus is not my only one. I was deep into the pentecostal church at one time thanks to my Grandfather, Popo Bossy — yes, that is what we called him.

I went to church with him every Sunday, and usually, on Wednesdays. Then, the unthinkable happened. My strong God-fearing Popo was struck down with cancer. He didn’t die quickly but painfully and slowly.

I blamed God. If he existed, how could he allow someone who was so righteous to suffer as he did? I did not have Job’s faith. Eventually, I found myself denying HIS very existence.

“A God that I wish to worship would not allow such deep suffering, not only in my grandpa but in others,” I said.

A Life Without Christ

I went from being a devout Christian to rolling my eyes at the mention of anything religious. I deeply regret that part of my daughter’s life was being raised by that person.

When I lost my faith in Christ, I lost my faith in everything; including myself. My depression — that I had suffered from early childhood — deepened to the point of creating a suicide plan on numerous occasions.

I quit caring about anything but my daughter. I went from the strong single mom that left an abusive relationship back to that person that let others take advantage of her. I even became the other woman.

In fact, the only time I ever stood for something was against any sort of religion.

I thank God that I never succeeding in completely destroying myself.

Rock Bottom

In fact, he used my circumstances to put me in the position of returning to HIS Grace. I had lost everything. My daughter is a young woman with a baby of her own. I had not held a job in ages and I had used up all my families charity. I was fixing to be homeless.

I hatched another plan. This one was fool proof. It took me a year but I saved up pills that I had received from my last stint at the mental health clinic — I had 3 bottles of Xanax. However, God would not allow me to take them. I went back to the hospital instead.

Of course, when it was time to leave, I still had nowhere to go. They found me shelter at The New Orleans Mission.

I thank the Holy Spirit for using my own self-destruction to guide me back to Jesus.

Redemption Found In Stubbornness

Now, this ‘mission’ in my mind was a cult. They made you go to church to eat and get a bed to sleep in daily. However, I could do it. I was determined.

Out of boredom, I started listening to the preacher as he gave his daily sermon. Was this when I found redemption? Na. I, being my stubborn self, decided to disagree with him. However, being fair, I decided to go to his source, The Bible.

I started reading HIS Word. While I still disagreed with the preacher on many of his interpretations, I soon became engrossed in God’s Truth. One night, as I lay there about to go to sleep after reading the book of Matthew. I found myself begging Jesus for forgiveness.

I thank Jesus for HIS forgiveness and mercy.

Praising God In Troubled Times

Job showed great faith in praising God during his times of trouble. Could you do it? I am still not sure that I will not fall again, especially when it comes to my daughter and grandchildren. I just pray that I get the point to where I could as that is the TRUE FAITH that every Christian should strive for.

We just need to remember Jesus Christ’s willingness to suffer the cross for us. I know I remind myself of that daily.

Do you struggle with any aspect of your faith?

Have you praised/cursed God in troubled times?

How do you keep your faith?

Please feel free to tell us your story after you have prayed on it. You never know God may use YOU to help someone else, including me.

One thought on “Praising God in Troubled Times

Leave a Reply

